Caine Prize 2012: African Violet

Genre: Fiction
ISBN: 978-178-02607-4-7

No of Pages: 228

Size: 127 x 193mm

Publication Date: 2012

The Caine Prize is now in its thirteenth year. The judges panel is chaired by author and editor Bernardine Evaristo. Joining her are Nima Elbagir, International Correspondent for CNN; Maya Jaggi, award-winning cultural journalist and an influential critic; Samantha Pinto, Assistant Professor of English at Georgetown University in Washington, DC; and Chirikure Chirikure, performance poet and cultural consultant.

The 2012 shortlist comprises:

Rotimi Babatunde (Nigeria) '‘Bombay's Republic’ from 'Mirabilia Review' Vol. 3.9 (Lagos, 2011)

Billy Kahora (Kenya) ‘Urban Zoning’ from ‘McSweeney’s’ Vol. 37 (San Francisco, 2011)

Stanley Kenani (Malawi) ‘Love on Trial’ from ‘For Honour and Other Stories’ published by eKhaya/Random House Struik (Cape Town, 2011)

Melissa Tandiwe Myambo (Zimbabwe) ‘La Salle de Départ’from 'Prick of the Spindle' Vol. 4.2 (New Orleans, June, 2010)

Constance Myburgh (South Africa) ‘Hunter Emmanuel’from ‘Jungle Jim’ Issue 6, (Cape Town, 2011)

Rotimi Babatunde with his “Bombay’s Republic” was announced winner at the Bodleian Library in Oxford on the 2nd of July 2012.


Share this book using: