Ayodele Olofintuade shortlisted for NLNG Prize

Cassava Republic wants to say congratulations to our author, Ayodele Olofintuade, who was among six authors shortlisted for the 2011 Nigeria Prize for Literature for her book Eno's Story.

The prize is valued at $100,000, one of the richest literary prizes in the world. It was established in 2004 and rotates annually among four literary genres: fiction, poetry, drama and children's literature. This year's award was for children's literature.

Eno's Story, follows a young girl as she struggles to survive after her father goes missing and she is accused of being a "witch." The book examines a widespread pratice through a touching and powerful story of resiliance and courage.

Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, professor of English at the University of Lagos was chair of this year panel said that the six books, chosen out of a total of 126 submissions, all had compelling stories.

"The emphasis is on good books that stay with you long past the point at which you put them down," Adimora-Ezeigbo said.

The other stories shortlisted include: 

  • Philip Begho, Aunty Felicia Goes to School
  • Uche Peter Umez, The Runaway Hero
  • Mai Nasara, The Missing Clock
  • Chinyere Obi-Obasi, The Great Fall
  • Thelma Nwokeji, Red Nest

A second shortlist of three books is expected in September while the award ceremony will hold in October.

For copies of the book, visit our website at www.cassavarepublic.biz. To wish Ayodele a hearty congratulations, visit our Facebook page at: www.facebook.com/CassavaRepublic.


  • Good Luck to all the shortlisted writers… whether you win or not it’s good to be acknowledged by your own people.

    Posted by Nana Fredua-Agyeman on July 26, 2011

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up

RSS Feed Rss

Most commented articles

Recent Posts