2011 Commonwealth Prize Winners Revealed

On Saturday 21st May, the 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize announced its winners for Best Book and Best First Book in Sydney.

The prize for Best book went to Aminatta Forna of Sierra Leone for her critically acclaimed book, "The Memory of Love." Craig Cliff of New Zealand won Best First Book for his "A Man Melting."

The judges praised "The Memory of Love" for its risk taking, elegance and breadth. According to the Prize's press release, the novel is a "poignant story about friendship, betrayal, obsession and second chances ... an immensely powerful portrayal of human resilience."

"The Memory of Love delicately delves into the courageous lives of those haunted by the indelible effects of Sierra Leone’s past and yet amid that loss gives us a sense of hope and optimism for their future. Forna has produced a bold, deeply moving and accomplished novel which confirms her place among the most talented writers in literature today."

The judges called Mr. Craig's book a "highly entertaining and thought-provoking collection of short stories," and described the author as "a talent to watch [who is] set to take the literary world by storm."

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize is supported by the Macquarie Group Foundation and is now in its 25th year. It's unique format offers both established and emerging writers the opportunity to showcase their work. The Best Book winner will claim £10,000 while the writer of Best First Book will win £5,000.

Cassava Republic congratulates both authors and wishes them the best in their careers.


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up

RSS Feed Rss

Most commented articles

Recent Posts