Regional winners head to Commonwealth Prize Final

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, internationally recognised for promoting ground-breaking works of fiction from across the globe, has announced an eclectic mix of writers from the four regions of the Commonwealth who will be heading to the final stages of the competition at Sydney Writers’ Festival in May.

The regional prize winners are:

Best Book: The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (Sierra Leone)
Best First Book: Happiness is a four-letter word by Cynthia Jele (South Africa)

Caribbean and Canada:
Best Book: Room by Emma Donoghue (Canada)
Best First Book: Bird Eat Bird by Katrina Best (Canada)

South Asia and Europe:
Best Book: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell (UK)
Best First Book: Sabra Zoo by Mischa Hiller (UK)

South East Asia and Pacific:
Best Book: That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott (Australia)
Best First Book: A Man Melting by Craig Cliff (New Zealand)

The final programme of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize will bring together the regional winners from Africa, Caribbean and Canada, South Asia and Europe, and South East Asia and Pacific, at Sydney Writers’ Festival (16-22 May). The overall winners of Best Book and Best First Book will be announced on 21 May.

Now in its 25th year and supported by the Macquarie Group Foundation, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize is unique in offering both established and emerging writers the opportunity to showcase their work.

For the last 25 years the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize has played a key role in unearthing new international literary names, bringing compelling stories of human experience to a wider audience. Winners of this year’s Prize will follow in the footsteps of some of the biggest names in fiction, including Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Andrea Levy, Ian McEwan, and Zadie Smith.


  • Congrats to all the winners

    Posted by Nana Fredua-Agyeman on March 04, 2011

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up

RSS Feed Rss

Most commented articles

Recent Posts