Helon Habila makes Commonwealth Prize regional shortlist

The Commonwealth Foundation has announced its regional shortlist for the 2011 edition of The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.

Our very own Helon Habila has been shortlisted for his latest novel, "Oil on Water." The list is a round up of established and emerging writers from all over the world and it is a testament to his talent and hard work. We wish him the best of luck.

Here is the list from Africa:

Africa Best Book:
The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (Sierra Leone)
Men of the South by Sukiswa Wanner (South Africa)
The Unseen Leopard by Bridget Pitt (South Africa)
Oil on Water by Helon Habila (Nigeria)
Blood at Bay by Sue Rabie (South Africa)
Banquet at Brabazan by Patricia Schonstein (South Africa)

Africa Best First Book:
Happiness is a Four Letter Word by Cynthia Jele (South Africa)
Bitter Leaf by Chioma Okereke (Nigeria)
The Fossil Artist by Graeme Friedman (South Africa)
Colour Blind by Uzoma Uponi (Nigeria)
Voice of America by E. C. Osondu (Nigeria)
Wall of Days by Alastair Bruce (South Africa)


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up

RSS Feed Rss

Most commented articles

Recent Posts